Emerging Writers’ Group

Our Emerging Writers’ Group (EWG) is entering its fourth year with a new intake of six writers.

The EWG is an opportunity for the Bush to develop relationships with new playwrights encountered through our unsolicited submissions process and further afield – all of whom are at early stages in their careers. It aims to support writers over a sustained period of time and help encourage work on a new full length play.

The class of 2018 will be: 

  • Zia Ahmed
  • Sophia Chetin-Leuner
  • Urielle Klein-Mekongo
  • Ambreen Razia
  • Ella Road
  • Patrick Russell

“The best thing for me about the programme is that it didn’t try to teach me to write. I’ve been writing for nearly 5 years, I didn’t need another course on the ‘hero’s journey’ and genre. It was more sophisticated than that – it treated us and our methods individually. So it’s hard to say what I learnt, but I know I’m a better writer now.” Camilla Whitehill